top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureQuarantine Literary

Day 18 by Zee Zalinski

Day 18


they tell me that the african violet is a notioriously tricky plant to nurture

her leaves will rot if exposed to water

she is highly sensitive to temperature changes and requires 8 hours of total darkness

she likes moderate to bright, indirect light

loamy soil, and just enough water to thrive

but not so little she dries out

or drowns

i am no expert in vitality

i know that when she is ready,

she will bloom.

her first bud grew from my negligence

as i scratched my head as a new plant parent

i didn't know what she needed

except sunlight and water

so i left her be

and she flowered

and i couldn't help but wonder

how it is we still find the strength to thrive

when we're completely left alone

for months, in unfavourable situations

i named her Vivian

because it means "Vitality"

it has been 18 days since i've last had direct human contact

since i've last hugged another being goodbye

i give Vivian the rawest parts of me

i sing her songs and read her poetry

i don't know if plants can hear me

but i figure there's no harm in the transference of all of this watery energy

every weekend, i rehydrate her pot and photograph her progress

i take a gentle hand, ever steady, to remove the dead growth

i make her a promise that we'll both make it out alive

and every weekend, Vivian shows me what it means

to survive.



Zee Zelinski is a queer, disabled, POC writer and visual artist from Seattle, Washington. If they were not socially isolating right now, they would probably be at a park with their family or scouring the local plant shops. 

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Dream of Crowds, Now by Hayli McClain

I Dream of Crowds, Now Crowds of unfamiliar faces packed around me in public areas, close enough that the compounding heat of our bodies becomes a presence of its own. The rustle of jackets and jeans

Two Poems by Nala Washington

Things I’d Like but Can’t Have (Day 11) After Alejandra De La Cruz To touch you infinity -But you are too far at the moment. For the beauty supply store to be open For once not to be just “ok” because

Behind Quarantine Doors by James Irving

Behind Quarantine Doors As I stare out of boarded-up window holes, contemplating from my quarantined berth, I fantasise the interactions I’m missing right now. Feelings unshared, thoughts internalised

bottom of page